Dog Grief and Guardian Tango

sad-dog-e1382258367817

Photo by Listverse

This is a 3-in-1 post in which I’m going to talk about three topics. The photo above explains the first topic. The second and third ones are pop culture-related. The title of this post is a clue about what you’re about to read.

Last night, Kara, one of our puppies, passed away. I’m going to do a brief background first. Last October 10, our dog Chi gave birth to four puppies. After two days, two of those puppies died while two of them were able to make it. I named those two surviving puppies, Mimi and Kara. I named Mimi from my crush (it’s her nickname) while I named Kara from Kara Danvers on Supergirl. Two days ago, Kara was sick. She wasn’t eating. She was just vomiting and pooping. We tried to do everything like feeding her and give her medicine. Sadly, last night, she didn’t make it. She died surrounded by her mother Chi, father Snowy and sister Mimi. She was almost two months old when she died. I felt sad during the moment when I noticed that she’s no longer breathing. I’m the first one who discovered that she died. I poked at her and she didn’t respond. Then, I called my father and our housekeeper to check if my analysis is right. They said that she’s indeed gone. Her loved ones are grieving right now. I can feel their sadness about Kara’s death. Sadly, I don’t have a picture of Kara that I can share here. It’s somehow ironic that I named her after a superhero but she lost her fight against the sickness that she had. Gone too soon. Kara, we will miss you.

Now, I’m going to talk about something happy. The new teaser trailer of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 has been released. All I can say is that it was awesome and it made me more hyped. I can’t wait for the release next year. I’m going to do some sort of short breakdown of the trailer. As usual, the visual effects were stunning and the song that was used in the trailer made it more exciting. It also featured a lot of cute Baby Groot and I’m expecting him to be the face of the marketing. Plus, I think it’s a hint about the tone of the film. The trailer is telling us that we should expect a lot of humor throughout the film especially Baby Groot. But, based on the trailer, Drax is probably the one who is going to be the comic relief of the film. He had funny moments in the trailer especially in the end part. Drax suddenly became an interesting character for me and I’m expecting him to be the most likeable character in the sequel. The end part of the trailer made me laugh thanks to Drax. Also, I was actually looking forward to see Kurt Russell’s Ego and Sylvester Stallone’s character in the trailer but it appears that we might see a glimpse of them on the official trailer. But, this trailer was awesome. I can’t wait for the release next year. I’m pretty sure that this is going to be fantastic.

last_tango_in_paris_xlg

Photo by MGM

Lastly, I want to talk about a recent controversy that surrounded the classic 1972 film Last Tango in Paris. I haven’t seen the movie yet but I have some plans to watch it someday as a film enthusiast although, because of the recent controversy, I might not watch it ever now because my perception has been changed. A clip emerged recently in which the director, Bernardo Bertolucci, admitted that the rape scene was real and they did it without the consent of Maria Schneider. It’s shocking because I never thought that his could possibly happen when you make a movie. When you make a movie, it shouldn’t be like this. Some people might say that it was a different time back then but I think it’s an obvious moral law that this should not be the way. I might not watch this film ever because of the way they made it. The director said that he didn’t regret doing the scene. Nowadays, I believe that this will never happen now and it shouldn’t be. Making movies should be a safe place for everyone involved in the production.

Leave a Reply

